Home > Local News > Cambodia builds bridge to link ASEAN highway

Cambodia builds bridge to link ASEAN highway

PHNOM PENH (Xinhua) – The construction of Neak
Loeung Bridge, a part of ASEAN’s highway, will play a vital role in
boosting the development of Cambodian and regional economy, said
Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen on Saturday during a ground breaking
ceremony for the bridge construction.
Neak Loeung Bridge in the future, Cambodia.
The Neak Loeung Bridge across the Mekong River along the National
Road No. 1 will link the western part of Kandal province and the
eastern part of Prey Veng province to Vietnam.
The bridge will be the biggest and longest one in Cambodia. It will
be 13.5 meters wide and 2,200 meters long, and as high as 37 meters
from the water surface, according to the master-plan.
The Neak Loeung Bridge, being constructed by contractor Sumitomo
Mitsu Construction of Japan, will be completed by 2015. The cost was
estimated at $131 million under the grant aid from Japan.
“The bridge will be hugely contributed to the development of
Cambodian and regional economies because it will link the ASEAN highway
and Great Mekong Sub-region highway,” the premier said.
The construction of the bridge will also respond timely to the
implementation of the bilateral transport agreement between Cambodia
and Vietnam, he added.
In a message from Japanese Prime Minister Kan Naoto to congratulate
the ground breaking ceremony for the bridge, he said that the bridge
construction demonstrated closer confidence and cooperation between
Cambodia and Japan.
“I firmly hope that this bridge will contribute to the development
and progress in Cambodia and Mekong region,” Kan Naoto wrote in the
message and was read at the ceremony by Yutaka Banno, state secretary
Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
According to the figure from the Cambodian Ministry of Economy and
Finance, Japanese grant to Cambodia is about $130 million a year for
rehabilitating and developing physical infrastructures such as roads
and bridges, and human resources.
Since 1994 to the end of 2010, Japanese’s grants to Cambodia mounted to $1.9 billion.
The ASEAN countries consist of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos,
Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.
Categories: Local News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: