Home > Local News > A Student’s View

A Student’s View

Sopheak Lay
Hello,
my name is Sopheak Lay. I came to GW Law from Cambodia. I obtained my
Bachelor’s Degree in Law from the Royal University of Law and Economics
in 2006 and a Bachelor of Education in English in 2007 from the
Institute of Foreign Language, Royal University of Phnom Penh. Having
spent around six months as an intern and a UNDP legal researcher in
Cambodia, I then pursued my Master of Laws in South Korea from 2007–09.   
I
can’t believe how quickly time is flying by! It feels like I just
arrived in D.C. and at GW Law, but three months have already passed. I
have cherished my time here and am grateful that I have had this
opportunity. I still remember how the School warmly welcomed me and my
fellow students; I especially appreciated how the staff was so helpful
and informative and committed to assisting us in adapting to life in
the U.S. The orientation and reception really helped me quickly feel
like a part of the school and to get to know my classmates, who come
from all over the world. 
Although
difficult and exhausting at times, I really value the knowledge and
experience I’m gaining from the classes I am taking. My area of
specialization is International and Comparative Law, and the School has
an incredible number of International Law subjects for students to
choose from. I have the chance to study both with American J.D.
students and International LL.M. students, which has given me so many
new insights. Studying with my LL.M. classmates, many of whom have a
lot of professional experience, I have been able to gain much useful
and practical knowledge, whereas I have had an opportunity to improve
my English and exchange cultural ideas and experiences by making
friends with J.D. students. I have also found the professors at GW Law
to be extremely knowledgeable and to be very helpful when I need them
to advise me and assist with my studies.
Outside
of the classroom I also have enjoyed my time D.C. itself. It is great
to study law in the U.S. capital. I used to watch TV dramas and movies
about lawyers and courtrooms―Boston Legal and Justice are my favorites.
Now, I know more about what actually goes on in a U.S. courtroom since
I have had the opportunity to visit real ones and watch real cases in
action. So far I have been to the Court of Appeals in D.C. and I plan
to go to the Supreme Court soon.
I’m
very happy with my decision to attend GW and eager to continue taking
advantage of the many valuable experiences that still lie ahead in my
classes and through the real-life experience available at the School
and in D.C.
Categories: Local News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

